Meet the Makers – Freya Lines

Introducing my first interview in the “Meet the Makers” series. Meet Freya, a locally based designer and maker. Taking inspiration from nature, Freya delicately paints, draws and paper- cuts to create products including paper-cut works and a variety of products printed with her beautiful drawings and watercolours.

 

 

How did you come up with the name for your business?

“Very simply as it is just my name. Luckily my surname ‘Lines’ ties in rather perfectly with hand drawn elements within my work.”

What were you doing before you started selling at Roses and String?

“Since graduating in 2010, I have been working as a freelance designer on commissions; greetings cards, branding, website illustration and bespoke paper cut work.”

“I have also undertaken various work placements & internships for design studio’s, such as tigerprint, working with designers such as Helen Minns, Emma Jeffs and Ella Doran.”

 

 

Have you had any formal training?

“(I completed)…my foundation diploma at Camberwell College of Arts and my BA (Hons) in Surface Design.”

What do you love most about owning your own crafty business?

“The fact that I have made myself a business and a career out of doing what I love… Being able to earn money from drawing, painting and paper-cutting really is a dream.”

So what’s next for your “Freya Lines Designs”… any exciting plans you would like to share?

“Roses & String helped move everything along for me…I just hope to continue developing & growing and being able to make and sell more and more products, along with continuing with various commissions too.”

 

 

What’s the most exciting thing that has happened so far in your business journey?

“My first ever -Bespoke commission making handmade paper-cut lanterns for a wedding in Greece was wonderful.”

“…starting out and making the step to make and sell products was exciting and crucial to my development. Roses & String was the start of it!”

“Most recently working with the wonderful ‘Woolly Green’ ladies ,creating the artwork for their brand & website.”

What’s your favourite product in your range?

“My handmade paper-cut cards have a special place in my heart; a process and technique which I love and am proud of. But it has been really great to get some of my drawn and painted designs digitally printed onto products aswell, opening up more commercial opportunities.”

 

 

Besides crafting what else do you love doing?

“I love cooking, or really, being cooked for by my talented boyfriend… going for walks on Hampstead Heath or down regents canal… sitting in my garden with a cup of tea… watching cookery programmes… sitting in a good pub garden with my friends.” “I love good red wine and good music.”

If you would like to see some more of Freya Lines you can either view her websiteblogfacebook page or follow @FreyaLines on twitter. If you are interested in buying some of Freya’s lovely products, you can buy them from us here at the Roses and String shop – or via her etsy.




Leave a Reply

